Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Anglican international bodies

Lambeth Conference 2008The three formal Instruments of Communion are the Lambeth Conference, the Anglican Consultative Council and the Primates' Meeting. The Lambeth Conference is a gathering of the bishops of the Anglican Communion, at the personal invitation of the Archbishop of Canterbury, that usually takes place every ten years. The first was held in 1867 at Lambeth Palace, but as numbers grew the Conference moved to Canterbury. The Anglican Consultative Council was formed following a resolution of the 1968 Lambeth Conference. It brings together bishops, clergy and laity from around the Provinces and churches of the Communion every three years. The Archbishop of Canterbury is its President. The Primates Meeting, which the Archbishop of Canterbury convenes, brings together the senior archbishop or bishop (sometimes called "moderator") of each Province for prayer and reflection on matters of shared concern.

An article about the history of the Lambeth Conference can be found here

See also: Lambeth Conference website, Anglican Consultative Council and Primates' Meetings (external links)

Recent items relating to Lambeth Conference, the Anglican Consultative Council and the Primates' Meeting are shown below:

October 2003

Primates' Meeting 2003 - Final Statement
16 October 2003
A Statement by the Primates of the Anglican Communion meeting in Lambeth Palace, London, on October 15th…

March 2003

Archbishop: pastoral letter to Anglican Primates
24 March 2003
The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, has written to the most senior Bishops and Archbishops…

« previous   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8