Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

The Archbishop of Canterbury's Personal Staff


A list of the Archbishop of Canterbury's senior staff based at Lambeth Palace


NB: this list was correct on 31st December 2012 when Dr Rowan Williams stepped down as Archbishop of Canterbury.  For an up-to-date list, please go to the main Archbishop of Canterbury website


  • Chief of Staff: Mr Christopher Smith

  • Archbishop's Personal Assistant:  Mrs Mary Whitticase

  • Chaplain to the Archbishop: The Revd Canon Michael Camp

  • Assistant Chaplain to the Archbishop: The Revd Cortland Fransella
  • Archbishop's Ecumenical Secretary: The Revd Canon Jonathan Goodall

  • Secretary for Public Affairs: Mrs Kay Brock

  • Deputy Secretary for Public Affairs: The Revd Helen Dawes

  • Press Secretary: Ms Marie Papworth

  • Press Officer: Mr David Brownlie-Marshall
  • Digital Media Editor: Ms Cathy Goodin
  • Secretary for Anglican Relations: Revd Canon Flora Winfield
  • International Development Secretary: The Revd Rachel Carnegie

  • International Development Programme Officer: Miss Helen Stawski

  • Secretary for Anglican Communion Affairs: The Revd Canon Joanna Udal

  • Anglican Communion Liaison Officer: Miss Fiona Millican

  • Secretary for Inter Religious Relations:  The Revd Dr Toby Howarth

  • Patronage Secretary: Mr Derek Fullarton

  • Deputy Secretary for Ecumenical Affairs: The Revd Dr Leslie Nathaniel (Church House)

  • Premises and Administration Secretary: Mr Andrew Nunn

  • Steward: Col Malcolm Croft
  • Facilities Co-ordinator: Mr Fred Bender
  • Chauffeur & General Duties Officer: Mr Simon Cooper
  • Finance Officer: Miss Rebecca Pashley

  • Records Manager: Ms Barbara Casilli

  • Events and Tours Manager: Miss Amy Wilson

  • Head Gardener: Mr Alistair Cook